Wednesday, 5 June 2013

Summative Assessment

          Physical Education has been a very interesting yet sometimes frustration experience for me. To start off, my attendance has been rather... crummy. Like quite a few other kids participating in Period 1, I have often noticed myself arriving in the facility our class has been assigned to for that week only after the bell has rung. However, be I late or not, I am always prepared to participate. As for my change in fitness, I have actually noticed that it has gone down a bit. I believe that this is because in the beginning of the semester I had regular soccer practices and now not so much. These soccer practices I had were fairly intense and added more to my everyday fitness level. Although, now that my season is over it feels as though I am not getting as much exercise as I used in the beginning. For example, at the start of the term, I had scored about a 9.4 on the beep test while the previous one I had just barely made a level 9. I am not a very outgoing person compared to a few others in this block however I do make the effort to encourage the close friends around me to do their best along with me...... sometimes. Like when we did the 30 minute run in groups and when we were playing speed ball on the upper field.
          I would think that everyone has their own depth of the definition of being physically educated. To put it simply, it would probably revolve more around the activities we do to maintain our fitness. Personally I feel that I am educated enough about basic activities and myself for that matter, that I will be able to maintain myself on at least an average level of fitness if not more.
          Grade wise I would probably suggest myself at a high B because I do understand and participate in the activities, however there is the odd day when my energy doesn't quite maintain the same level. Other than that, I usually do my best to do the activity to the best of my ability throughout the class period.

Wednesday, 10 April 2013

04/10- Weight Room/ Stretching/ Interview

          Today we were in the weight room, but I was still a bit sore from yesterday so I mainly just stretched. And since we also did the interview, we didn't really do much today . Although, Amy and I did do some wall sits after stretching as well.
          So yeah.... I think that's going to be all for today....

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

04/09- Triple Threat

          Alright so we did this never-done-before activity which required a group of three people, two dumb ells, and a yoga mat. In this activity, Person 1 uses the dumb ells, Person 2 uses the mat, and Person 3 utilises the floor to perform a cardio exercise. All three members are to do their activity for 45 seconds and then the group members rotate.
          In my group, there was Katie, Simiran, and of course me. We all did our activities fairly well, and adjusted the exercise when we found necessary, but I noticed that in my current condition I wasn't able to keep up certain activities continuously. For example, i don't believe I've ever been able to hold the body bridge for more than 30 seconds, and even now can't.
          Although, on the other hand, I did learn a bunch of exercises with the dumb ells that i didn't know about before. But that's a given because I only know a hand full of dumb ell involving exercises. My favourite was the one where you had to point your elbow out and bring the weight to your chin (not really sure what that was called). 
          Anyway, it was fun... Life is fun... ;p

Wednesday, 6 March 2013

03/06- Interim Report

Physical Education is an interesting experience in my everyday school life. It is a great place were I can work hard with my friends who are also probably trying their best. In most cases I do try to the best of my ability however, it is because I try my best right from the start that I lose the energy to continue full out right to the end. By the time it's near the end of class when all the teachers are telling us to do our best, I already am, but with little to no energy it probably doesn't look like it.
I am not really comfortable in a leadership role but if someone else takes that role, I would be more than happy to lead my assistance to help that person sort things out. But I find that like me, the majority of the class also doesn't seem all that comfortable in being the leader. Either that, or they find that it doesn't concern them. But the results are the same; no one wants to be put in that spot.
I usually always have all of my gym-strip but am sometimes late for class. It usually just comes down to not being able to find a locker are being slow in changing, though I guess that is still no excuse.

Friday, 15 February 2013

02/15- Pond Run

          The pond run is one of my most favourite activities (but only when it's not raining.... or snowing.... or hailing [jk ;p]). Its running and walking; not sprinting full out (unless its the last one, then you go for the gold.... or whatever you want to call it). But yeah, there are no obstacles, there are no "reach this point before the time runs out" and there definitely is no "don't you dare stop running till the 40 minutes of class are over!!" No, it's just a nice, simple, one minute run and then you can walk. Walk and talk with your friends. And then you run again. And then you walk. Its a really simple process, and on a nice, cool, sunny day, its absolute perfection. Personally, I sometimes find running and then suddenly stopping and then having to run again, a breaker in my "flow", but I definitely find it better than running for 40 minutes without a break. This activity allows you to catch your breath after every minute so you can go for longer.
          When I did this activity, with my friends of course, we went for the full minute every single time. Although it was a bit confusing as to when to run and when to walk because we couldn't hear the whistle at the other side of the pond very well. But we managed and did our best right to the end, at least in my opinion we did.

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

02/12- Stations (Ladders, heart rate, into small gym, etc.)

          Alright, so the stations basically work like this. You start at a certain station doing an activity, and after a certain period of time, you move to the next station and do a completely different activity. I find this is a very unique exercising strategy because it can give you a variety of different kinds of activities to do for only a small amount of time. So even if you don't really like a certain activity, you can be happy knowing you will only have to do it for a short period before you move on to something else. However, although I say that, this rotation can also have a bit of a backfiring effect. For example, I don't know if any of the teachers noticed but a few kids supposedly liked certain activities too much. So when rotation came around, these kids didn't really go with the flow and instead just stayed in the same station which, when put together with the kids who skipped certain stations, eventually lead to a crowd forming in that station (not a large one but big enough). And I don't mean to sound like I'm complaining but..... when too many people are in the same group and the amount of equipment is limited, it really just drags the energy down. It results in having to wait to long or not being able to do the activity. And I find that once I lose the flow in one activity, it kind of becomes hard to recover in other activities. Kind of like an energy sucker is following me around everywhere. That kind of feeling.
          But anyway, I really liked the bench station (don't remember what number that was). You were suppose to do something like step on the bench with one foot and follow with you other, and then step down from the bench with the first foot and follow with the other, and repeat. Yeah, it didn't seem to complex and after a while you could even feel it if you were working hard enough. But it doesn't take up too much energy either, unlike skipping. So yeah, that's why its my favourite. 

Tuesday, 5 February 2013

02/05- Circuit (Around the hub)

          Okay, so we did the circuit and it was.......... painful. It seems like an easy enough things to do: go through the obstacles in the large gym, the ladders and hurdles in the small gym, around and up the stairs and then down again, and then return to the large gym to repeat this process. However, having to do this over and over again for about 40 minutes is just brutal. Even more so since certain teachers wouldn't allow the students to drink any water from the fountains..... (you can't seriously expect high school kids to go full out for 40 minutes without water. I mean I can't I don't know about the other kids) But enough of that.
          In the beginning it was fine, but after the sixth or seventh run around the circuit, the stairs really get to you. In fact, I was already exhausted by the passing of the twentieth minute. So yeah, I walked for a bit of a rest when I was unable to run, and then when I had regained a bit of strength I would start running again, and then repeat this process. That's basically all.