The pond run is one of my most favourite activities (but only when it's not raining.... or snowing.... or hailing [jk ;p]). Its running and walking; not sprinting full out (unless its the last one, then you go for the gold.... or whatever you want to call it). But yeah, there are no obstacles, there are no "reach this point before the time runs out" and there definitely is no "don't you dare stop running till the 40 minutes of class are over!!" No, it's just a nice, simple, one minute run and then you can walk. Walk and talk with your friends. And then you run again. And then you walk. Its a really simple process, and on a nice, cool, sunny day, its absolute perfection. Personally, I sometimes find running and then suddenly stopping and then having to run again, a breaker in my "flow", but I definitely find it better than running for 40 minutes without a break. This activity allows you to catch your breath after every minute so you can go for longer.
When I did this activity, with my friends of course, we went for the full minute every single time. Although it was a bit confusing as to when to run and when to walk because we couldn't hear the whistle at the other side of the pond very well. But we managed and did our best right to the end, at least in my opinion we did.
Friday, 15 February 2013
Tuesday, 12 February 2013
02/12- Stations (Ladders, heart rate, into small gym, etc.)
Alright, so the stations basically work like this. You start at a certain station doing an activity, and after a certain period of time, you move to the next station and do a completely different activity. I find this is a very unique exercising strategy because it can give you a variety of different kinds of activities to do for only a small amount of time. So even if you don't really like a certain activity, you can be happy knowing you will only have to do it for a short period before you move on to something else. However, although I say that, this rotation can also have a bit of a backfiring effect. For example, I don't know if any of the teachers noticed but a few kids supposedly liked certain activities too much. So when rotation came around, these kids didn't really go with the flow and instead just stayed in the same station which, when put together with the kids who skipped certain stations, eventually lead to a crowd forming in that station (not a large one but big enough). And I don't mean to sound like I'm complaining but..... when too many people are in the same group and the amount of equipment is limited, it really just drags the energy down. It results in having to wait to long or not being able to do the activity. And I find that once I lose the flow in one activity, it kind of becomes hard to recover in other activities. Kind of like an energy sucker is following me around everywhere. That kind of feeling.
But anyway, I really liked the bench station (don't remember what number that was). You were suppose to do something like step on the bench with one foot and follow with you other, and then step down from the bench with the first foot and follow with the other, and repeat. Yeah, it didn't seem to complex and after a while you could even feel it if you were working hard enough. But it doesn't take up too much energy either, unlike skipping. So yeah, that's why its my favourite.
But anyway, I really liked the bench station (don't remember what number that was). You were suppose to do something like step on the bench with one foot and follow with you other, and then step down from the bench with the first foot and follow with the other, and repeat. Yeah, it didn't seem to complex and after a while you could even feel it if you were working hard enough. But it doesn't take up too much energy either, unlike skipping. So yeah, that's why its my favourite.
Tuesday, 5 February 2013
02/05- Circuit (Around the hub)
Okay, so we did the circuit and it was.......... painful. It seems like an easy enough things to do: go through the obstacles in the large gym, the ladders and hurdles in the small gym, around and up the stairs and then down again, and then return to the large gym to repeat this process. However, having to do this over and over again for about 40 minutes is just brutal. Even more so since certain teachers wouldn't allow the students to drink any water from the fountains..... (you can't seriously expect high school kids to go full out for 40 minutes without water. I mean I can't I don't know about the other kids) But enough of that.
In the beginning it was fine, but after the sixth or seventh run around the circuit, the stairs really get to you. In fact, I was already exhausted by the passing of the twentieth minute. So yeah, I walked for a bit of a rest when I was unable to run, and then when I had regained a bit of strength I would start running again, and then repeat this process. That's basically all.
In the beginning it was fine, but after the sixth or seventh run around the circuit, the stairs really get to you. In fact, I was already exhausted by the passing of the twentieth minute. So yeah, I walked for a bit of a rest when I was unable to run, and then when I had regained a bit of strength I would start running again, and then repeat this process. That's basically all.
Friday, 1 February 2013
02/01- Beep Test
This is pretty much the first actual physical education class that we have done this semester, and right off the bat its a beep test.
Alright, I got to level 8.2 which isn't quite as good as what I had gotten last year, but is still fairly okay. Throughout this beep test I had felt kind of out of it and sore which kind of makes sense since I haven't really done any physical activity that requires keeping in step with a timer since last year's PE blocks. Instead, I've just done a bit of jogging and soccer practice which doesn't require you to go a certain distance within a certain time limit. In addition to that, I also did the T-Test with a time of 12.07 seconds, and the Sit and Reach with a level 2 reach. Furthermore, during the max vertical I got a difference of 30 cm.
I didn't really have enough time (or energy...) to do the rest of the activities so..... I guess my post ends here.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)